• Day One
  • Posts
  • The Covid-19 Guide To Profiting From Boredom

The Covid-19 Guide To Profiting From Boredom

What to do while you are waiting.

I am not hungry but I am bored.Therefore, I shall eat

For many people, the most exciting things about Life have disappeared into thin air, nights out with friends, weekend cinema visits or even the joy of playing football with friends.

You life pre-covid might have been all fun and bustle (except hermits like me), and you might have even been the life of the party.

These days however, you might have seen yourself doing more of video calls with friends, interacting with co-workers and bosses via an app that reminds you of the Flash series.

But the truth is that this moment affects all of us, even the Hermits like me who rarely leave the house.

In the early days of Covid as things slowed down, I found myself being slowly sucked into limbo, despite the fact that we were having active product design and development session at work.

This reinforced the importance of environment in determining how productive one can be, even though the pandemic didn’t affect how I worked.

The fact that I have been working remotely since last year didn’t exempt me from being affected by what was going on in my environment.

In this case, the environment was digital.

WhatsApp status updates about how everything was coming to a standstill, Twitter threads on how the pandemic is destroying everything that we hold dear.

The good thing was after a while I noticed how what was prevalent in my digital environment was affecting my thinking.

So I began to slowly disconnect from all the doomsday prophecy and started to feed my mind with what it needed to be productive.

There is still money to be made

If you ask me, feeling bored is a luxury. If you are like the CEO of Zoom whose company saw tremendous growth and profits due to increased signups during this pandemic, you can afford to be bored during this pandemic

Or if you are like the owners and shareholders of Netflix who are also raking in revenue, boredom is probably and option for you.

If you don’t fall under the category of people profiting from the pandemic, then my dear, you can’t afford to be bored.

Personally, I have a monthly income goal and I have been able to get something in for this month’s target because I decided to start taking action.

I an not saying boredom is bad or evil, we all feel bored at one time or another, the most important thing is what you feed your mind in that state of boredom.

I shared a quote by Jack Butcher on my WhatsApp Status yesterday and it goes like this :

Seek better inputs and give yourself more time to process without distraction. Your mind is a super computer, let it work.

So boredom is not your enemy, you just need to learn how to harness it for your own good.

Your brain is incredibly powerful and while you might think that you are not doing anything, your neurons and your unconscious mind are working in the background, so whenever you want to feel bored, seek inputs that would give your brain the right data to work with.

Read a book(or James Clear’s blog), listen to a podcast (Naval and Gary Vee), consume things that would give you the right mental framework and before time you would birth something powerful.

I launched Day One recently and I got the idea on the best way to set it up during this period of the pandemic. So when some people stopped selling because of the pandemic, I was able to sell over 60 slots for people to join the community.

Joseph Don also sold 100 slots on his WhatsApp status for a program that would help people make money in this Covid period.

So in all that you do, don’t let the bad news flying around get to you. Limit your consumption of social media and work on birthing something amazing, the feeling is great. Believe me.

So I urge you to sit this afternoon and analyse your plans for this year and find out what you can do now to start working towards them, don’t allow this period to hold you back.

Even if what you do is not digital, use this period as a time of hibernation, study and learn better ways of doing things that you have been doing.

Learn something new that would help you transform the way that you work or build.

Don’t sit still. You can’t afford to be bored.

Day One is a newsletter that goes out Tuesdays and Thursdays, the purpose of this newsletter is to spur people to work on the things that really matter to them, and to also ensure that they work on it with the right process and systems.

You can also join the Mentorship Community, but clicking this link 👉🏾 Join Day One

If you read this Newsletter and we are yet to connect on WhatsApp, message me by clicking on the button below, I have a Free gift waiting for you.