• Day One
  • Posts
  • How To Market Like Seth Godin (Part Two)

How To Market Like Seth Godin (Part Two)

The One thing you need to Start

A brand is the set of expectations, memories, stories and relationships that, taken together, account for a consumers decision to choose one product or service over another - Seth Godin.

I started my Steemit blog on January 28th 2017.

I has a lot of things to write about, but I knew pondering and analysing what to write about would only cripple me.

So I started writing fiction. I has a knack for storytelling, so it wasn’t hard for me to drum up one short story a day.

After like a month of writing short stories, I finally Identified what I could write about, it was something that I have studied relentlessly for six years before I opened my blog.

Personal Branding.

Steemit was a new blogging platform with an economic model that enabled people earn cryptocurrencies from their content, a lot of people rushed to the platform purely for the money.

It was just a small percentage of bloggers on the platform that knew how to properly brand themselves, I saw that opening and started teaching personal branding.

I grew my Steemit blog by teaching people how to blog. I talked about everything that had to do with creating and curating content, building relationships with readers and fellow bloggers etc.

When it comes to pivoting, you have to be ready to make different promise when the time comes. - Seth Godin.

I didn’t think twice about pivoting from fiction to branding when the time came, I knew it was something that would allow me serve my audience in the best way.

This is something that you need to have at the back of your mind as you build, know that it is okay to make a different promise as long as you are sure that what you are offering would be helpful.

In the interview with Peace Itimi, Seth said that Marketing is about making change happen, not hype. You need to learn how to make things better by making better things.

The alternative to this is being stuck in limbo unable to work on the things that you really care about and that brings great regret later on, and regret is one of the worst state of mind that you can be in.

You need to understand that building happens when you take action, or you may just find yourself in state where you are trying to calculate all variables before starting.

You will never have everything figured out until you start. When it comes to learning before building there are three core statements that was made by Sahil, the founder of Gumroad.

  • Build to learn how to build

  • Build to learn what to build

  • Build to learn what you’re building

Most times in the beginning, you aren’t even sure of what you are building, the direction that you are going to finally take, but it when you start that you would gain clarity of what really works.

I started with fiction before finding out that there was a gap in branding which I was better at. However it was fiction writing that enabled me to build Interaction with people that made me see identify their problems with branding.

You don’t need to have everything figured out in the beginning.

Just Start.

If you have any questions or something to share regarding todays article, you can hit the heart ( ❤️) button and also drop a comment below, I look forward to hearing from you.

Related Articles